What do I want from life?

Wayyyy back a few years ago when I started this blog, it was an output for some professional discernment on exploring potential new career ideas, etc.  Nothing much came out of it as I’m still working at the same institution, albeit in a different capacity.

Anyway…back at that time, I read several professional development books, many of the self-help types. I put them aside until recently when my manager offered a book he read over the past few months.  I just started it this evening and will perhaps make additional blog posts on it.  The book is The Rhythm of Life by Matthew Kelly.  I think he wrote this before he penned his other “professional/dynamic/rediscover/etc Catholic” books.  I have not read any of the others and they are currently not on any of my lists to read.

//giphy.com/embed/eb3WAhXzlUAFi

 

Getting back to the point, early on in the first few chapters the following question was posed:

What do you want from life?

It’s a legit question.  So, I will answer it.  This is partially influenced by my aforementioned friend who is dying of inoperable cancer. Barring any miracles (which he would like to attribute to Blessed Karl of Austria’s intercession if God so Wills), he will pass into his eternal reward in the next few months.  Here’s my list, in this order:

  1. To die, having fully confessed shortly before, in the state of Sanctifying Grace with my wife, children and parents in tow and with as much Purgatory time worked off as possible.
  2. Continue to increase my affection and love towards my wife and children.
  3. To be able to support in as many ways possible the work of St. Francis de Sales Oratory, the Institute of Christ the King and the work of Cardinal Glennon Children’s Hospital.
  4. Retire from work when I want to and be financially independent with my south county manor debt-free and cash available to whisk my afore mentioned, affection-increased bride out of town to places like Rome, Florence, Prague, Bavaria or wherever we are wanting to go.  Or, domestically to decide in the morning to fly to Dallas to have In-N-Out Burgers for lunch and fly back.
  5. To be handier around the house.
  6. Be a safe and an expert marksman. (in the meantime, don’t volunteer for this job!)
    27688

Perhaps as I read more of this book, I’ll add to or modify this list.

What do YOU want from life?  I look forward to the conversation and invite you to share.

2 comments

  1. Matthew Kelly was at Steubenville when I was there. Unique fellow.

    On Mon, Sep 12, 2016 at 9:43 PM, Marc’s View on Stuff wrote:

    > Marc posted: “Wayyyy back a few years ago when I started this blog, it was > an output for some professional discernment on exploring potential new > career ideas, etc. Nothing much came out of it as I’m still working at the > same institution, albeit in a different capacit” >

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

