Marc’s view on … Ferguson

And it’s not Ferguson as in Ferguson “Fergie” Jenkins…a name I remember from watching the Chicago Cubs as a yuut.

I know lots of stuff has been written and I’m sure I’m covering other people’s writings in some manner but here I go anyway.

I do not claim to be any expert in the legal field. I have several friends who would be able to cover the details of the law in many topics.  Say what you want about the looters/protestors/thugs/terrorists/whatever.  The greatest tragedy (if I may plug her website name) of all of this is three fold:

One: From what everything I’ve seen (and it’s not all that much), Michael Brown died without the aid of a Catholic priest to administer the sacraments.

Two: All the damage to private and public property is covered under the 7th commandment.  If I go to Baltimore Catechism article #1293, “What sins are equivalent to stealing?”  Answer: “All sins of cheating, defrauding, or wronging others of their property; also all sins of borrowing or buying with the intention of never repaying are equivalent to stealing.”  In addition, article #1301 says, “Are we bound to restore ill-gotten goods?” Answer: “We are bound to restore ill-gotten goods, or the value of them, as far as we are able; otherwise we cannot be forgiven.” I don’t want to try and reconcile this checkbook.  I’m not sure even Bob from Accounttemps could handle that!

Three: I’ve seen many signs on the various news sites that say, “Black lives matter.”  I agree.  ALL lives matter.  But this protest is over a single (as in ONE) person’s death. I guarantee you that we would have no more abortions if the energies and efforts of those protesting the eeeeevil retailers were instead focused on Planned Parenthood. According to this article from LifeSiteNews:

The report found that between 2007 and 2010, nearly 36 percent of all abortions in the U.S. were performed on black children, even though blacks make up only 12.8 percent of the population.

Let’s do a little math exercise. There are roughly 1,200,000 abortions in the US each year.

1,200,000 x 36% = 432,000 black … lives that matter.

432,000 unarmed black babies….every year.

Multiply that times 41 years since Roe v. Wade…

17,712,000 black lives. SEVENTEEN MILLION + (unarmed) Lives that matter…

I think the priority is “juuuust a bit outside” as Bob “Mr. Baseball” Ueker would say.

Let us pray that our society gets their priorities in check.

PS…I couldn’t help but think that perhaps this situation would be better if we would say Merry Christmas (yeah, I know we have 4 weeks until Christmas) vs. the Seasons Greetings arch-o-lights as shown from downtown Ferguson. The seasons in my pantry don’t give a rip if they’re greeted or not!

135

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

