Thanksgiving AD MMXIV

That’s right, Bing my man, I have plenty to be thankful for as well this year of Our Lord 2014! Here are some of them in no particular order:

  1. As I was at Holy Mass this morning, I was reminded (as he sat behind me) on being grateful for my friend, The Major, for inviting me to his house some 9-10 years ago to walk me through the Mass. I learned much from that discussion.  I value our friendship to this day very highly.
  2. I am thankful for gainful employment.  Said employment provided the necessary benefits for Pinger’s surgeries this year (which would have easily bankrupted us had I not had it). Plus it also provides our temporal needs just nicely.
  3. Once again, I thank all of the doctors and nurses at Cardinal Glennon for taking such good care of Pinger.  It’s almost bittersweet that we do not have to be there anymore (barring any emergencies) because the care and relationships were so good.  Because of them, he can sit on my lap as I write this post.
  4. Related to #3…I am very grateful for all y’all for your prayers for these surgeries and subsequent life-threatening complications.  It is very clear that they were answered!
  5. Cardinal Burke…what else can I say here.  May his intra-Church continued purification bring us saintly examples and for him, a very high place in heaven.  I thank him for the four new priests he brought to us in August.
  6. My mom and dad for choosing life.
  7. For my wife’s FLAGRANT disobedience once again.  I order her, under holy obedience, to make turkey hotdogs for Thanksgiving dinner to keep things on the simple and cheap. She ignores.  Tsk tsk tsk…
  8. Our beloved clergy.  Two were re-assigned domestically and we have two new to us, including a newly ordained!
  9. For these guys to keep me from being too selfish

    DSCN3009

    My offspring

  10. Many thanks to my wife who puts up with me and who manages the day-to-day ops of our busy household.  I got a taste of her job when she was away with Pinger at the hospital.  I do not want it.  My job of a corporate perpetual crisis manager is a cake walk compared to managing the home.

 

I’d like to close with a clip from St Louis Catholic’s post last year on Gratitude, revolving around his reflections a sermon from Canon Wiener. I love the prayer from St. Francis de Sales at the end…

Which leads me to Canon Wiener’s sermon.  The topic was Gratitude.  It struck me that gratitude provides the glue, the reason, the motivation we need at this time.

I think it is in being actively grateful to God that we can best steer through the current doldrums and do His will.  It is in being grateful that we will find the daily joy of our duties.  We have been given so much.  It is pride to look to outsmart the daily grind.  We must be patient, and wait on the Lord.

Though problems obviously remain, it is undeniable that access to the Mass has increased around the world, especially in this country.  In St. Louis, there are at least three places where the Mass is celebrated in the ancient rite every single day.  And if you are so blessed as to have St. Francis de Sales Oratory, so ably manned by the Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest, how can you not be grateful?

The best way to secure future blessings is to be grateful for those that God has already given us.

St. Francis de Sales says it well, as usual.  I leave you with this prayer because this great saint speaks to us, right now, on how to handle all of this.  In gratitude we can find peace and joy:

The Prayer of St. Francis DeSales For Complete Trust in God

Do not look forward to the changes and chances of this life with fear. Rather, look to them with full confidence as they arise. God has guided you thus far in life. If you hold fast to God’s hand, you will be led safely through all trials. Whenever you cannot stand, God will carry you lovingly in his arms.

Do not look forward to what may happen tomorrow. The same eternal father who takes care of you today will take care of you tomorrow, and every day of your life. Either God will shield you from suffering or will give you unfailing strength to bear it.

Be at peace then, and put aside all useless thoughts, all vain dreads and all anxious imaginations. Amen.

May each of you have a Blessed Thanksgiving!

In Christo Rege,

Marc

2 comments

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your entire family!
    What a great post, thanks so much for all you share with us !
    GRATITUDE.: how important it is !
    It is sometimes easy to complain, be discouraged and down with all that is happening around us and the brokenness of people that come in and out of our lives.
    My own family (who have all left the Catholic Church is a challenge to be around but the good GOD sees the bigger picture and HE will call them back and rescue them as HE did me…when I myself was lost and blind to the complete TRUTH!
    I am most grateful for my Catholic Faith and St. Francis de Sales Oratory and all the Canon’s at St. Francis de Sales past and present !
    When I “stumbled” across St. Francis de Sales I wondered and asked myself , What is going on there: so I had to contact them and they were so kind to answer my questions : Canon Wiener was the one who reached out to me and invited me to come down , it was life changing …and that was in 2010 .
    One of the most wonderful blessings this year in my life was becoming the new receptionist at the St. Agnes Home …it was over a year and half but the good God with the intercession of St. Joseph , the door opened for this new job! Thanks be to God!
    I chatted with each of my 4 adult children that was very nice . I pray for the grace of conversion to fall upon each of them.
    Yes and the prayer you shared here…I have read many times . How true and beautiful .
    As we come to the close of another year we rejoice .
    I am looking forward to ADVENT and The Novena starting the Sunday ….may you and your family have a Blessed Advent !
    Thanks again and May God Bless you and your family!
    In Christ the King,
    Jeanne

    1. Jeanne,

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment! I would be interested in knowing how you stumbled across St. Francis de Sales. It is not like it’s some micro-parish in the styx🙂 We’ll pray that your family members make a glorious conversion back to Our Lord!

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

