My comments in the “viral” Cardinal Burke interview

20140805-154203-56523230.jpg

His Eminence and Chanoine Gilles Guitard, Institute Master of Ceremonies

I just finished reading this. Two things struck me (my emphasis):

The lex orandi is always bound to the lex credendi. If someone does not pray well, then he does not believe well and therefore he does not behave well. When I go to celebrate the Traditional Mass, for example, I see so many beautiful young families with so many children. I do not believe that these families do not have problems, but it is evident that they have more strength to confront them. This has to say something. The liturgy is the most perfect and most complete expression of our life in Christ, and when all of this is lessened or is betrayed every aspect of the life of the faithful is harmed.

I know this first hand!

And

If I am suffering at this time because of the situation in the Church, I think that the Lord is telling me that I have need of purification. And I also think that, if the suffering is so widespread, this means that the whole Church is in need of purification. But this is not because of a God who is waiting only to punish us. This is because of our own sins. If in some way we have betrayed doctrine, moral teaching or the liturgy, it follows inevitably that we will undergo a suffering that purifies us to put us back again on the narrow way.

If this tribulation for him is for his purification…what about the rest of us… <insert Film Noir music >

4 comments

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

