Pray for the persecuted Church

I shall put my usual sanguine silliness aside for this evening.

I really enjoy reading this blog, http://reclaimingthesacred.com/, as the writer has so many beautiful reflections on Holy Mother Church and other topics on tradition.

This afternoon’s post was quite different. I post the link below but will reiterate her caveat of an extremely graphic photo at the bottom of her post. That is a picture that shows the remains of an Iraqi young (presumably) Catholic lady who got in the way if the Islamic extremists making their way across Iraq.

The link: http://reclaimingthesacred.com/2014/07/24/wake-up-call-to-the-west-the-brutal-murder-of-a-christian-girl/

God-willing, she was in the state of Grace and now as a martyr enjoys the Beatific Vision.

Those martyrs can now aid us in prayer; helping us to get over and offer up our considerably smaller problems and turn to Our Lord.

*sigh*

But, we shall not lose hope.

I think it is safe to assume that there were similar atrocities that led up to these great battles that are described in the YouTube videos below. Battles in which we, the Church Militant, were well out-manned and out-gunned…but as members if the True Church, armed with the Holy Rosary, we were victorious.

The Battle of Vienna

The Battle if Lepanto

The same priest tells both stories so well. I hope you find them just as encouraging.

All ye Iraqi martyrs, Orate Pro Nobis!

9 comments

  1. Thank you for sharing this story Marc.

    I actually did not even want to look at my own website last night – it is such a horrible story.

    If any good can come out of it though, in regards to “waking up” some people who are living in sheltered delusions about what the world would be like if we let the Muslims overtake it (as they hope to do), then I hope that it does.

    God bless you!

      1. Not yet. I wanted to though. I am maxing out my internet already this month, and have gone far beyond budget. I wanted to click play, but I knew I had better hold off – at least until the next cycle starts.

        The perils of the nomadic life…no unlimited wireless internet, a freakishly small budget, and not a lot of change to spare.😦

        At least I can work on my computer in the country…although I might wish I had a/c to battle the heat!🙂

          1. You know how when you sit in a sauna, it gets so hot that you can actually SMELL the wood that it is made out of?

            Well, I finally figured out just why I am getting that smell today – and I am NOT in a sauna! LOL🙂

              1. Lol🙂 Well, if there were hippies that dressed modestly, didn’t do drugs, listened to better music, were chaste, sought virtue, were loyal to the Church, and loved the Latin Mass, I guess we might get along.🙂

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

