Sights from my retreat – Part 1

I had the great grace to recently attend a weekend retreat for the Society of the Sacred Heart, the Institute of Christ the King’s lay society. (More info here: http://www.institute-christ-king.org/sacred-heart-society/). It was an excellent weekend with conferences, High Masses and quiet time for recollection (yeah, I kept SOME quiet time, believe it or not.)

It was also very good to visit with friends from the other Institute apostolates as well as meet some new members of the Society.  I pray that these relationships continue to develop.

The retreat was held at the Mundelein Seminary grounds in Northern Illinois.  Here are a few signs of beauty, order and tradition:

IMG_4596

Main Chapel: Ember Saturday Mass

 

IMG_4590

Chapel Steps, looking towards Saint Mary’s Lake.

 

 

 

IMG_4603

Our Lady of Lourdes in a grotto.

 

IMG_4605

Saint George.

 

IMG_4608

Saint Cecilia…whom I believe #1 daughter will choose for her Confirmation name.

 

IMG_4614

From the choir loft.

 

IMG_4622

Perfect liturgical order – Trinity Sunday Solemn High Mass.

IMG_4628

Yours truly with Institute Vicar General, Monsignor Schmitz.

4 comments

  1. Yay! Wasn’t Mundelein just breathaking!? I wish I had gotten more time to just wander around – I guess that’s what Sursum Corda will be for! Can I assume that “part 1” means there will be a part 2 of fantastic photos?

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

