My Thanksgiving Listage

One of the blogs I recently started to follow, The Catholic Gentleman, posted a very nice list of things that he is grateful for this Thanksgiving.

I’ll plagiarize “see”  his list and raise it🙂

  1. The doctors and nurses who are taking care of The Pinger.
  2. Our wonderful Canons and Oblate who have visited he who is mentioned in #1 above and The Wife numerous times.
  3. The innumerable gifts of prayers, babysitting time, and yummy food for the Clampetts and I while The Wife stays with The Pinger. This includes a Thanksgiving meal which will not be solely Turkey hotdogs.
  4. For new friends we’ve met this year at the Oratory and those friendships at other parishes and oratories.
  5. For the countless newborns born and baptized earlier this year at the oratory, with prayers for another onslaught here soon.  And for some hoping to have their first as well as some soon-to-be newlyweds! We’re taking over the world!  Please pray for them!
  6. For my work.  I suffered a lot of interior struggles with it earlier this year, praying for guidance on what to do.  Nothing materialized, which is now a blessing, at least for insurance coverage but also for meaningfulness of work.  Perhaps I should have a Price is Right type contest on the blog to guess what the hospital bill would be if I had to pay it out of pocket.  The winner could receive one of my home-brews.
  7. For my heart and/or lungs not exploding when running my first ever 5K races this year.  I did 4.  We’ll see what happens with the 10K next month…in the woods…on the trails…in DECEMBER…with 800 other people…nuts. (and I have not gone running for over 3 weeks…fortunately I’ll be running with a doctor, not just one who plays one on TV.)
  8. For my little ones who are good at reminding me that I have yet to reach perfection in the virtue of patience, especially during the past 3 weeks when I’ve had to work at home.
  9. For the grace of growing up over the past 2 months as far as accepting the fact of not getting what I want when I want it.
  10. For the miraculous return of our beloved rector.
  11. Finally for my dear bride, who sacrificed the comfort of her home home and bed to stay with our baby. Did I mention that she has not been home since 07 November (and I haven’t burnt the house down yet either!) She’s a heck of a trooper to try and rest through the beeping noises and blinking and flashing lights of a PICU…not to mention several PICU-SWAT Team visits when things weren’t going so well.   (This is how I would handle a couple of hours in the PICU no need to watch more than 20 seconds or so as it goes TECHNO…)
    http://youtu.be/WtlBZx0yV_M?t=3s

Also, I thought I’d share the Thanksgiving scene from one of my favorite old timey, great-to-watch-on-snowed-in-days movies, Holiday Inn.  It’s also a favorite of my mom’s.

I’d like to close with a clip from St Louis Catholic’s recent post on Gratitude, revolving around his reflections a sermon from Canon Wiener. I love the prayer from St. Francis de Sales at the end…

Which leads me to Canon Wiener’s sermon.  The topic was Gratitude.  It struck me that gratitude provides the glue, the reason, the motivation we need at this time.

I think it is in being actively grateful to God that we can best steer through the current doldrums and do His will.  It is in being grateful that we will find the daily joy of our duties.  We have been given so much.  It is pride to look to outsmart the daily grind.  We must be patient, and wait on the Lord.

Though problems obviously remain, it is undeniable that access to the Mass has increased around the world, especially in this country.  In St. Louis, there are at least three places where the Mass is celebrated in the ancient rite every single day.  And if you are so blessed as to have St. Francis de Sales Oratory, so ably manned by the Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest, how can you not be grateful?

The best way to secure future blessings is to be grateful for those that God has already given us.

St. Francis de Sales says it well, as usual.  I leave you with this prayer because this great saint speaks to us, right now, on how to handle all of this.  In gratitude we can find peace and joy:

The Prayer of St. Francis DeSales For Complete Trust in God

Do not look forward to the changes and chances of this life with fear. Rather, look to them with full confidence as they arise. God has guided you thus far in life. If you hold fast to God’s hand, you will be led safely through all trials. Whenever you cannot stand, God will carry you lovingly in his arms.

Do not look forward to what may happen tomorrow. The same eternal father who takes care of you today will take care of you tomorrow, and every day of your life. Either God will shield you from suffering or will give you unfailing strength to bear it.

Be at peace then, and put aside all useless thoughts, all vain dreads and all anxious imaginations. Amen.

May each of you have a Blessed Thanksgiving!

In Christo Rege,

Marc

3 comments

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

