13 Things

I caught a facebook post by two friends that listed x number of things that most people don’t know about them. I got tagged with coming up with 13 for myself.

Here goes:

  1. I was a Star Trek junkie growing up, especially the original series and then the Next Generation.  I was very sad when they nuked the Enterprise in Star Trek III.  I turned my nose up at Deep Space 9 and Voyager.
  2. I was very reserved as a child and probably into college.  I was absolutely terrified to ask a girl out (most likely item #1 above hindered this effort).  I guess the sanguine egg cracked my sophomore year in undergrad and I would talk (and flirt) a little more.  I also learned to enjoy public speaking around then as well. It seemed somewhat natural once I let it happen (and now sometimes I’ll go on and on and on and on…It’s rubbed off on my youngest daughter in quite the same way!)
  3. As a child, my career aspirations were to be an airline pilot AND a professional bowler!
  4. I loved the Dukes of Hazzard and Knight Rider as a kid.   I dreaded when my mom and dad wanted to watch Dallas. (although the times that I do have to fly thru DFW airport, the Dallas theme song is always in my head.)
  5. I went to Space Camp, twice.
  6. I took bass guitar and saxophone lessons for awhile. I even played bass in the church band at Mass (OH! How things have changed!)  I play neither instrument anymore…I don’t play anything actually.
  7. In either first or second grade, I was in the Christmas Pageant and had my back to the audience as I was too embarrassed to face the crowd.
  8. One of my favorite times in an airplane was sitting in the back of a Cessna 310 (twin engine, 6 seater) and flying under Instrument Flight Rules (IFR).  On the way back from Scott AFB, we were at the near-exact altitude of the top of the cloud deck. It was phenomenally beautiful…almost like we were skipping across the top of the clouds.
  9. I wish I had the vocal talent to sing like Dean Martin in order to serenade my bride.
  10. I have attended a handful of concerts back in my classic rock days.  John Mellencamp (thrice…he had the best drummer…EV-VAH!!), Billy Joel, Paul McCartney (as much of a freaking commie as he is…this concert had an awesome light show…same lighting guy as Pink Floyd at the time..and also when Linda (“Lindar” in English English) was still alive), Van Halen, Aerosmith, Jimmy Buffet, Eric Clapton, Celine Dion (Man-Card=GONE.), Kenny Loggins (pre-Footloose) and Barry Manilow (hey…I was maybe 5 for the last two), Black Crowes (terrible show), Hootie and the Blowfish (Terrible show).
  11. William “The Refrigerator” Perry was one of my favorite Chicago Bears players from the ’85 team.  We had similar goals in fitness.
  12. I believe that someday I shall be an entrepreneur.  It’s in the blood…but not just yet.
  13. The car I learned to drive on was an 1984 Audi 5000S.  Whenever I have the opportunity to rent a VW while on business travel, it always reminds me of driving that car in the way it handled, etc.  The only car that I wish that I had the chance to drive was my dad’s ’67 (I think) Shelby 350 Cobra.  It was blue like this one. He’ll have to correct me on the year.
  14. BONUS…I have only shaken the hand of one celebrity that I’m aware. It was James “Jim” Lovell. The Commander of Apollo XIII…the guy Tom Hanks played in the movie.  The Wife and I saw the late Jack Buck once at the now-defunct Ozzies restaurant in Westport.
  15. BONUS…If I could have the same homecooked meal every day for the rest of my life, it would have been my grandma’s roast beef…but it would have had to been served at their Wisconsin house, along with yummy cruller for breakfast.

    The Cruller (or basically a lightly glazed cake donut)

This was a fun trip down memory lane!

One comment

  1. It was a68 Shelby.c[ose enough. I hadn’t thought of my mothers roast beef till now.I remember it on little bakery rolls, rather than as a dinner. Re vincents new progress as Buzz Kilman would say ROCKIN GOOD NEWS Love you son.

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

