Marc’s 2013 goals – Part 2

Continuing on from the other day’s post on my goals for 2013, I will pick up where I left off at #5

  1. Career – Get promoted!
  2. Financial – Save money!
  3. Spiritual – Pray more!
  4. Physical – Lose the gut!
  5. Intellectual – I am going to add things that are mostly career related here but they could also be relevant to family life as well.  I started this in 2012 but made it about halfway through the year and let it slide.  I plan on reading at least one secular professional development-like book each month.  Although my order may change, here’s how I’m planning to start 2013
    1. January – I have been asked to read a draft version of Early To Rise a new book by Andy Traub.  I’ve been following his website and blog for about 6 months as his, and others, talk about many things, but I was most interested in startup businesses. His main site is here, http://www.takepermission.com/.  Upon completing this review of his draft manuscript and providing feedback, I plan on completing Seth Godin’s, Linchpin.
    2. February – Read a book called Beat Yesterday by local consultant and executive coach, Dan Coughlin.  He’s spoken a few times at work and I have enjoyed his seminars very much.  His writing is also very practical and really tries to make business leadership and execution as human as possible.  There are going to be meetings at work with him to go through the lessons in the book.  Dan also blogs here, http://practicalbusinessleadership.com/
    3. March – Crucial Conversations.  I know that conflict and performance issues will eventually be presented to me at work.  This book has been recommended by a few whom I have had the pleasure of being mentored.
    4. April – The $100 Startup by Chris Guillebeau.
    5. May and onward – 7 Habits of Highly Successful People and a handful of others that have been recommended.
    6. List is subject to change!!  Please let me know of any ideas you may have.Other intellectual items will include some creative time in the evenings.  This will consist of either some blogging (like this) or reading the aforementioned books while my dear bride works on her recently-found passion of sewing.  I may also dabble in learning how to do some web development.  I have no aspirations of being a writer or a professional web guy, but I think it might be neat to tinker.
  6. Family – I have listed many things above and on part 1.  They are important to me, but I cannot sacrifice my dear family for the box-checking above.  I owe my family to be healthier as it’s my job to provide food, clothing and shelter to them.  But they also need my time and my undivided attention.  Therefore, I will be concentrating on saying YES to them, much more than the easy no (obviously when prudence mandates).  I will call on St. Joseph, my patron as husband, father and workman to help me with this goal.  I recently found a nice pocket-sized book of prayers to this head of the Holy Family that I want to turn to daily.  I will also need to avoid the internet and my iPhone like the plague, unless absolutely necessary, when I’m in the presence of my little ones.  I’ve already ‘forced’ some “yes” responses when asked if some of the children could tag along for my quick visits to the hardware store, etc.  I am glad I did say yes as it turned into a very fun trip.  Saying no is easy, especially when you do want to make it a quick visit, but they’re going to remember the yesses fondly.  I cannot bound this one with time as the seven souls under my leadership here will be souls for eternity.
  7. Social – I would like to open our home to a few new families from our Oratory or other places. That may be a brief lunch after Sunday Mass or something.  Let’s call it 4 families who have not been to our home in the course of a year.  Also, professionally, I think it would be good to get away from my desk for lunch, and go eat in the cafeteria…even if alone.  I can’t live at my desk all the time.  I am also going to start attending Toastmasters meetings at work, starting in February.  I enjoy public speaking and giving presentations, but I know I have a lot of room for improvement.

Well, there you go!

Have a blessed 2013!!

Marc

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

