Introibo ad alatre Dei…

…ad Deum qui laetificat juventutem meam. (I will go unto the altar of God. To God, Who gives joy to my youth.)

This past Sunday morning, a day that I’ve been looking forward to finally arrived. Free Chartreuse day at Randall’s, you say? No, although, that would be a close second. A papal declaration that eradicates “girl altar boys” and Extraordinary Ministers of the Eucharist? Getting closer…

My oldest son served his first Mass! I had been looking forward to this day since I found out we were expecting a little boy. I wasn’t sure how he was going to do. Providentially, he was placed between two older and more seasoned young men to help keep him in line. Otherwise, I feared that Mr. Sanguine (generously passed down hereditarily from yours truly) would’ve taken over and he would have been looking all over the place and not paying attention. But everything went very well. I was so proud of him. He is already talking about serving again next week. How could I refuse that?

This is a big step for him. I understand that many priestly vocations are fostered at this age by serving at the altar. I want to help where I can but also stay out of the way when I need to. Some years back, I went through training to learn how to serve Low Masses so someday he and I could do it together. I mentioned this to a fellow oratorian a few years back. He quickly replied, “Just think someday, Marc, you could be serving for him.” If that is God’s Will for him, then I would be the happiest man in the world. That day, however, is still forthcoming. He still needs to memorize the Latin responses…a long way to go! But he is very blessed with many other boys and young men to guide and mentor him as well as our beloved priests and awesome oblate.

Please pray for him…that God’s Will may manifest itself in my little boy (the little one in the middle of the picture.

Deo Gratias!

20120903-155335.jpg

One comment

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

