“Take it easy…”

(And I’m not standing on a corner in Winslow, Arizona!)

As busy as our world is and how hyper-connected we are, one of my favorite things to do is to take a weekly time-out.  Other bloggers have written on rest, but also naps!

For example, Michael Hyatt – takes a nap every day! http://michaelhyatt.com/why-you-should-take-a-nap-every-day.html

This guy doesn’t conform with anything…scroll down to #19: http://www.RyanEggenberger.com/20-ways-to-make-yourself-awesomer#more-767🙂

I book I read recently, “The Management 500” by Dan Coughlin, also recommended more frequent rest-times…if I recall properly, a few minutes each day, then a day a month, etc…there are more!

Since I am employed at a corporate job, they would frown upon naps in the office.  So we did the next best thing…This past Lent, the wife and I decided that we needed to have some time off each week.  In both of our cases, we opted to make that time away done at our church.  I would go on Tuesdays, on my way home from work. She’d go on Thursday evenings.  Obviously, we have let this great ‘tradition’ continue since Lent ended months ago now.  This has been a tremendous help for me as well as for her.  I get to enjoy about 45-60 minutes of relative silence in order to sort things out, and more importantly, to be in the presence of God and to give a sacramental confession.

This was the heavenly spot I picked out yesterday afternoon.  I go home refreshed and ready for the rest of the week.

Image

St. Francis de Sales Oratory – Saint Louis Missouri USA.

So…what do you do to get away from the grind?

Have a great week!

I would like to invite you to leave a reply. Thank you!

